Interface Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

XVI. Brain Implants

leave a comment »

Intel wants brain implants in their customers’ heads by the year 2020; they want to be able to control all different sorts of gadgets directly via brain waves by 2020. The scientists believe that people will tire soon of using touch-screen/multi-screen technology such as using iPhones, Microsoft’s Surface Table, Android smart phones etc. They also believe that people will be craving the freedom of not using a mouse, tablet, keyboard, remote control etc. to scroll the Web. According to popsci, “The Intel team has already made use of fMRI brain scans to match brain patterns with similar thoughts across many test subjects” (Hsu 1). Intel is not the only company that has dabbled in this idea, however. Toyota has recently demoed a wheelchair that is controlled using brainwaves and University of Utah has created a wireless brian transmitter that allows monkeys to control robotic arms. 

This article relates directly with my last entry about the abuse and addiction of new technology. As I stated in the last entry, I’m afraid that we will become too dependent on these new gadgets and we will ultimately not be able to live or function without them. I don’t like the idea of a brain chip being installed in my head. I mean a few years back when I was in high school, I would’ve totally entertained and welcomed the idea but now I feel as if it’s too much. Have we as humans become so lazy that we need this brain chip to surf the web for us? This chip actually reminds me of this past weekend because my father entertained the idea of a remote control that could rotate the TV monitor so he didn’t have to physically move it in different directions for his convenience everytime. I believe that this chip is just going to promote more laziness and problems for the future. If this new invention succeeds, I feel as if the world is going to become a cross between The Matrix and Wall-E. I don’t want to be tied down to a computer chip. In the wise words of Albert Einstein, “It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity.”

for more information on Intel’s brain chip, click here.

Written by minjikwon

December 2, 2009 at 4:35 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

